Social history of the pastorate

For the last few days I’ve been searching the web for studies that could answer some questions I’ve been long nagged with on the social perceptions of the office of Pastor in the last fifty years. I found some great resources and I’ll share them with you as I glean.

1. Pulpit & Pew: By far the best resource I’ve found on the web.

2. Who Shall Lead Them? The Future of Ministry in America by Larry A Witham, Oxford, 2005.

3. God’s Potters: Pastoral Leadership and the Shaping of Congregations by Jackson W. Carroll (thanks Robert Wuthnow!) Eerdmans, 2006.

The first thing I noticed was that direct search terms such as “perceptions of pastorate” and “social history clergy” were dead ends! Only when I found the right study center (Duke) could I find interest in the topic!

Leave a comment

Filed under Pastoral Ministry

Leave a Reply

