Emergent Church question

Here’s a very zoilean question regarding the Emergent Movement.

If a historical movement can be known by its’  “Prominent Figures” why are many of those listed not really associating themselves with the movement everywhere they go? I think of Stanley Hauerwas. Frankly I am very surprised to learn that he is a “prominent” figure in the movement. What would Lesslie Newbigen think of being an Emergent thinker?

Ok, here’s my really satirical remark (and I’m sure its the most dastardly thing they’ve heard yet:):

When I think of all things Emergent I think of marketing and $$$$. Every website is an invitation to book a speaker or buy a book. What if someone can’t afford either? Do they need a sponsor to be part of the movement?

The weakest thing about the movement is its’ inability to define its’ sense of Place or Home. Where is it calling a Person to?

I’ll never forget a panel discussion in Minneapolis at the Evangelical Press Association wherein I asked an emergent pastor “Who do you read to understand your sense of community?” His reply: “Edward T. Hall, the proximics professor.”

That alone was enough to worry me. I won’t go into the responses on mission to the poor.

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “Emergent Church question

  1. Jim

    For all their talk about wanting just to be near Jesus, the bit you cite above-

    I’ll never forget a panel discussion in Minneapolis at the Evangelical Press Association wherein I asked an emergent pastor “Who do you read to understand your sense of community?” His reply: “Edward T. Hall, the proximics professor.”

    shows that the Bible is virtually meaningless (else the answer would have been the Bible!) to the movement (aka heresy).

  2. Well I don’t like bantying that word heresy about. It tends to have no authority or meaning anymore anyway. Some folks throw the word “cult” about in the same way. I consider many Emergent folks friends but I remain skeptical. Some folks seem to compare Emergents to the Jesus Movement or the Moravians or the Anabaptists. When that is said I always look for the response from the Emergent devotee themselves(typically a “No I’m way too cool for that” look in the their eye). I’m going to bring the book “Emerging Churches: Creating Christian Community in postmodern cultures” (Gibbs/Bolger) along on my trip to Missouri over the next six weeks. I may find stuff in it I like. Or more stuff to stir the pot.

    -Chris

Leave a Reply

