flexitarian

I just found out there are flexible vegetarians out there. They’re called flexitarians. Wiki has this quote:

In 2003, the American Dialect Society voted flexitarian as the year’s most useful word and defined it as “a vegetarian who occasionally eats meat”. None of the vegetarian organizations recognize “semi-vegetarianism” as a category of vegetarianism, and it is viewed by many vegetarians as being paradoxical, like the terms “pesco-vegetarianism” and “pollo-vegetarianism“, since per definition a vegetarian diet does not include the flesh of animals.

Now I know I was wrong. Vegetarians can be open minded and dialectical!

2 Comments

Filed under Personal

2 responses to “flexitarian

  1. Interesting. I prefer to go by “occasional vegetarian” or “guilt-ridden meat-eater”, but good to know what the descriptive options are.

    I do think that the question of meat-eating as an il/legitimate practice is an issue that’s most often not treated with the theological consideration it deserves.

    (Peace be with you and your family during this time of loss),
    Scott

  2. Scott,

    maybe you could turn me on to some good theological writing on the topic. Personally I haven’t come across anything substantial. I guess I’ve considered much of the interest these days as faddish, at the same time knowing that I’m probably being an inconsiderate boor. I’ve had the bumper sticker “I eat vegans” on my guitar case for years. My own sister is serious about this issue though and I’m sure my boorishness is bothersome. Turn me on to some good reading on the topic. Thanks for your prayers for my family at this time.

    -Chris

Leave a Reply

