Ten Reasons Why I am an ecumenical protestant

  1. I was born into an ecumenical protestant household.
  2. My father is an ecumenical protestant minister.
  3. I do not understand my faith in terms of either Protest or Separation from the historic church.
  4. I receive the truth as Catholics speak it into my life. I don’t consider the Catholic church to be the only true Christian faith, but neither do I understand its nature to be only institutional, exclusive and repressive.
  5. I’m not holding my breath waiting for the Reform of the Catholic church, but from some statements it seems like they’re holding their breath waiting for Protestants to come around and return to the fold.
  6. I cannot accept that Peter is the primary apostle, that his seat is in Rome, and that there is an unbroken historic line of popes who sit in his seat up to the present day. 
  7. The idea of one bishop “succeeding” another as one king or queen succeeds another doesn’t, to my knowledge, have any basis in the New Testament. It seems to have served a function within the church at one time. But to weave all of the sacraments and offices of the church around this idea, and to insinuate that the Spirit of God only works within this succession (correct me if I’m wrong), presumes too much on the way God works in human affairs.
  8. Even so, I appreciate the mutual respect and open dialogue I see happening between Protestant and Catholic theologians.
  9. I have no rose colored glasses when it comes to Protestant history since the Reformation, or the history of ecumenism in the twentieth century. It pains me that Protestantism’s sociological impact within the world seems to most always involve a colonization to European and American ways of being.
  10. I’m protestant because I believe in a humble, conversational, Spirit led use of the Bible that involves patience, openness, and learning from Catholic interpretation. I admit that we protestants tend to have a certain air of pride when it comes to the Bible, thinking that because we honor it with more authority, we take it more seriously. I would counter that speaking about the Bible (or even “creeding” about the Bible) does not necessarily give it the place it deserves, any more than saying “Lord, Lord” puts us in the know with Jesus Christ (Mt. 7:21).
Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, theology

Leave a Reply

