Bethge series links

I just created a link outline for the Bonhoeffer book blog. I’ve posted the following into my Articles/Writing page on the left front page. In looking over these again it occurs to me that at some point I got really serious with this, having started out just as an experiment. I had no idea how much time I’d really have to accomplish it. Then my job changed almost overnight and I had so much more time than I thought. Then I became really invested in it, considering it one of the more monumental things I’ve done with my life. I do plan to review the book after the series. If you notice some glaring errors or just want to help with some insights, please post comments. I haven’t got many of those. My hope is that this in some small way will spark new interest in this book, beyond the academic community. This is a very difficult book for those outside the theological world. I hope musings from an armchair dilettante like me will open new doors.

The “Blogging Bethge” series: A journey through Eberhard Bethge’s monumental biography of Dietrich Bonhoeffer.

Part One: The Lure of Theology

1. Childhood and Youth: 1906-1923 pg. 3

2. Student Years: 1923-1927 pg. 45

3. Assistant Pastor in Barcelona: 1928 pg. 97

4. Assistant Lecturer in Berlin: 1929-1930 pg. 125

5. America 1930-1931 p. 147

Part Two: The Cost of Being A Christian

6. Lecturer and Pastor: 1931-1932, pg. 173

7. Berlin: 1933, pg. 257

8. London: 1933-1935, pg. 325

9. Preacher’s Seminary: 1935, pg. 419

10. Finkenwalde: 1936-1937, pg. 493

11. The Collective Pastorates: 1938-1940, pg. 587

Part Three: Sharing Germany’s Destiny

12. Travels: 1940-1943, pg. 681

13. Tegel: 1943-1944, pg. 799

14. In the Custody of the State: 1944-1945, pg. 893

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging DB, Dietrich Bonhoeffer, Eberhard Bethge

One response to “Bethge series links

  1. Josh Robb

    wow – weird… I’m reading Bethge and just finished chapter 11.. and found your blog looking for more info on the “prophets chamber”.

    I’ve read a number of your posts and printed a bunch more for reading over the weekend.

    Anyway – totally agree that this is a really important book. It’s way to easy to make Bonhoeffer what you think he was, to make him support your worldview.

    He was actually very difficult to pin down and it’s not at all comfortable to read about the decisions he had to make and the conclusions he came to and to realise the possibility that he actually wouldn’t necessarily support the causes you’d like him to have.

Leave a Reply

