new projects

I think I should clue you all in on some projects I’m working on and envision for the future. Cornerstone Press Chicago continues to be my day job. Currently I’m involved in maintaining inventory, working through a dire financial situation, and pushing a children’s book through to completion.

My interest in theomusicology continues. I have this idea of exploring the sacramental properties in music. In my church background there is far more of an emphasis on music’s power within worship over that of the Lord’s Supper. Rather than despairing over that, I believe there could be some work done to locate the sacramental properties in music itself. If all of life is sacramental why can’t the incarnational elements of my protestant tradition be as valid as those of Eucharistic traditions? And then outside of worship, can we see the sacramental properties of music such as the Blues, which seems to physically work to locate our spirits in relation to the pain of our mortal coils.

But most of my personal work lately has been in reading about and readying myself for writing about myself economically in relation to my church locally with an eye at the message America’s churches are sending theologically about how Christians relate to money. It’s a complex subject that I’m trying to internalize and share from personal experience. I’m learning from writings principally from Jacques Ellul, Marva Dawn, Vincent J. Miller, Henri Nouwen, and Jean Vanier.

There are also books that I still want to review. The People’s Work: A Social History of the Liturgy by Frank C. Senn, John Howard Yoder: Mennonite Patience, Evangelical Witness, Catholic Convictions by Mark Nation, and finally Lesslie Newbigin: Missionary Theologian: A reader by Paul Weston.

But first, next Wednesday I’ll be flying with my dad down to south Texas to visit with my Grandmother. It promises to be an exhausting trip (bus, long plane ride, driving back) but time well spent with a man I love very much.

Blogged with Flock

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Leave a Reply

