thrilled by Advent

I feel the draw of a new world in the traditional hymns of Advent. I can’t believe I’ve been so daft regarding Advent and so ignorant of the rich words in these ancient lyrics. This morning I was rearranging “O Come O Come Emmanuel” on my acoustic guitar when I came upon the final verse

O come, Desire of nations, bind
In one the hearts of all mankind;
Bid Thou our sad divisions cease,
And be Thyself our King of Peace.

All that I’ve been studying concerning the Principalities and Powers turned full circle, here in expectation of Advent. The prophecies of this new Messiah and what he will bring must break into our weak eyed vision of this present world. When we anticipate in Advent the Incarnation and the Eschaton we are looking with new eyes at this present world with Jesus as King. Jesus is making all things new!

Check out this page of Advent hymns, most of which I have never sung or heard of.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

