writing with the Church in mind pt. 2

How does one write as part of the Church? What is my identity in relation to the universal Church? The Church is a holy mystery so how do I write within it?

This gets dicier the more local I go. What if I read my book aloud to my church? What if I included the voices of others as part of my church experience? Others won’t see it the way I do. They may misunderstand. The conversation might divide us.

Who, among us, speaks for God? How do we say with any certitude what God was doing and where and when? One member’s redemption might cause pain to another. The vulnerability and openness required for such a task might be interpreted as folly, and not as the work of the church, but rather an ego driven attempt by the writer to win praise for himself.

Leave a comment

Filed under books, Community, ecclesiology

Leave a Reply

