my middle name

I can safely say I’m actually now proud of my middle name. . . Lawrence. When I was a child I read the story of a martyr who gave his life in behalf of his flock of Christians from Foxe’s Book of Martyrs. This man was the Martyr Lawrence of Rome. Here is the account according to Ambrose:

For when the treasures of the Church were demanded from him, he promised that he would show them. On the following day he brought the poor together. When asked where the treasures were which he had promised, he pointed to the poor, saying: “These are the treasures of the Church.” And truly they were treasures, in whom Christ lives, in whom there is faith in Him. So, too, the Apostle says: “We have this treasure in earthen vessels.” What greater treasures has Christ than those in whom He says He Himself lives? For thus it is written: “I was hungry and ye gave Me to eat, I was thirsty and ye gave Me to drink, I was a stranger and ye took Me in.” And again: “What thou didst to one of these, thou didst it unto Me.”What better treasures has Jesus than those in which He loves to be seen?

I remembered this story, but couldn’t remember the name until today. My middle name is Lawrence because it’s my dad’s name and my grandfather’s. But I love the story of the Martyr Lawrence of Rome. I love the reminder that our true treasure is the people of God! BTW, Lawrence died at the ripe old age of 33.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

