the frozen flag

Nothing very important to say here. I live next to a school yard and this morning I looked out the window and discovered that the flag I encounter so often was both folded and frozen to the flag pole.

dscn0062

I see that flag so often through many seasons. Once I saw it waving on a beautiful day right behind my pastor’s head as he was preaching. I didn’t like that, but there was nothing I could do about it. But this morning as I saw it bundled and frozen I felt sorry for it. Nobody seems to care for the flags that hang in my neighborhood. They don’t take them down until they wave to tatters. What good is a symbol if it waves itself to shreds?

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

