vows of poverty and Evangelicals

Vows of poverty and religious orders are to Evangelicals as __________ is/are to ________? Fill in the blank.

Here are a few starters: Ducks to water? Hardly.

Oil is to water? Maybe.

Some Evangelicals understand vows of poverty to be consistent with a Christian calling. I think that’s a fair statement. But I know that the Calvinist faith in Christian stewardship, meaning yes we can have lots of money and not grow to love it is much more engrained in the Evangelical psyche. Yes, I’ll admit, I’m biased here. Living communally makes me unfit for schooling Calvinists.

1 Comment

Filed under Evangelicals

One response to “vows of poverty and Evangelicals

  1. Chris, I actually burst out laughing at this :o)

Leave a Reply

