American VI: Ain’t No Grave

I’ve been waiting for years for this news and now it looks like reality. American VI: Ain’t No Grave, the final Johnny Cash American album is due out Feb. 23. The track list is as follows (according to Wikipedia):

  • 1. Ain’t No Grave (Gonna Hold This Body Down) (Ely)
  • 2. Redemption Day (Crow)
  • 3. For the Good Times (Kristofferson)
  • 4. First Corinthians
  • 5. Where I’m Bound (Gibson)
  • 6. A Satisfied Mind (Hayes/Rhodes)
  • 7. I Don’t Hurt Anymore (Robertson/Rollins)
  • 8. Cool Water (Nolan)
  • 9. Last Night I Had the Strangest Dream (McCurdy)
  • 10. Aloha

I now know what I want for my birthday! I only hope they change the artwork and have some good liner notes.

1 Comment

Filed under music

One response to “American VI: Ain’t No Grave

  1. Eric Hatch

    Chris,
    I like you more and more every time I see your work. You let me know of good stuff (e.g. Cash’s newest release), and you warn me about bad stuff (e.g., Robertson’s rants). I love you for both.

    OK, here’s the deal. I was raised in a household and church that appreciated Pat Robertson. Now, after seeing all he talks about after natural disasters, I realize that he feels like he has a full understanding of God’s work — all the time. He’s not completely crazy, but he reminds me of the character represented by John Nash, the scientist portrayed in “A Beautiful Mind”. He sees patterns that ARE NOT THERE. God is cursing Haiti because of a deal with the Devil done 300 years ago?! If so, how does Robertson know? Did some great-grandson to the 10th power of the leader of these folks let it out? How can he be sure of this revelation?

    Every time I hear of someone saying tragedy is divine judgment, I want that person to go back and read the Book of Job. Tragedy could mean GOD IS BLESSING YOU!

    OK, I am done with that. I am back to thanking God for American VI… yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Cash.

    :) God bless you, Chris, you and yours.
    ECH

Leave a Reply

