Talking to my daughter about prayer

My seven year old daughter has a perpetual question about Jesus. It’s one I remember her asking at least three years ago and she still hasn’t solved it in her mind. “How do I talk to Jesus? Where is He? I mean, I see you but I can’t see Him and I’ve never heard His voice.” I’ve tried in many different ways to explain, but I don’t think any of it is making sense. I know only that for me, observing my parents praying in expectation is what sealed it for me. We prayed all the time about most everything. I saw their faith firsthand, through many struggles and difficulties and I learned how to struggle with God in prayer. I learned that we don’t take command of God in prayer. We don’t tell God what he’s got to do. We don’t pump ourselves up in prayer. We don’t pontificate in prayer. We may be reminding ourselves aloud in prayer, and God puts up with that. But in the end prayer is surrender and expectation (and many other things as well obviously). I don’t know how my daughter will grow in faith in a world of misguided and failed expectations. Children grow to expect that they don’t have to wait on answers. Their days are filled with constant stimulation. Boredom is the ultimate enemy. And in that world faith gets pushed out. It will take a miracle to save us from this.

Matt 19:25-26

25 When the disciples heard this, they were greatly astonished and asked, “Who then can be saved?”

26 Jesus looked at them and said, “With man this is impossible, but with God all things are possible .”
NIV

Leave a comment

Filed under Bible, Personal

Leave a Reply

