Why lies about Haiti are worth our notice

Like many other Christian people, I’m finding it hard to get over the recent lie perpetuated by Pat Robertson regarding the events surrounding Haitian religion and national identity. Why can’t I get over it? Because Haiti deserves our attention. Pat has our attention, but Haiti deserves our prolonged attention. In 1993 I visited Haiti for ten days and what I experienced there changed the way I see politics, missions, and yes, people. Amid all the stupid lies floating around, I’ve found some good articles on religiondispatches.org here. Start with Michelle Maldonado’s “‘Biblical’ Disaster: Understanding Religion in Haiti” and then read all the articles under “Misunderstanding Haiti: A Roundup From the RD Blog.”

I further recommend as a primer the documentary “Aristide and the Endless Revolution.”

Leave a comment

Filed under Politics, race, religion and politics

Leave a Reply

