A Recovery Post on Fear and the Truth

It’s been a while since I shared something Recovery related, but I want to share some notes I made for myself some years ago. It’s a little exercise wherein I relate a common fear and then the truth I find in working the twelve steps and spending daily time in meditation and prayer, learning essentially what God has to say in that moment.

The Fear in the Silence:

That I Don’t Measure up.

The Truth learned in Solitude:

I am a man who loves God and wants to know, love, and serve Him better. I want to glorify God in all my thoughts, words, and deeds. As a man who belongs to Jesus I measure up! After doing all I can I leave the rest in God’s hands.

The Fear in the Silence:

That something is left undone.

The Truth learned in Solitude:

Only what’s done for God will last. It’s not about my effort. After doing all I can I leave the rest in God’s hands.

The Fear in the silence:

That my best is not enough.

The Truth learned in Solitude:

My best for Jesus is always enough.

The fear in the silence:

That what I do is not valuable.

The Truth learned in Solitude:

How can I think that what I offer is not valuable when Jesus loves me and looks on me with compassion and mercy?

The Fear in the silence:

That other’s reactions (namely being ignored, criticized, belittled, misunderstood, maligned, attacked) are true and reflect God’s feelings for me.

The Truth learned in Solitude:

I witness God’s love for me in the patience and reassurance I witness in other program members. I don’t have to be understood, liked, patted on the back, praised or honored in order to believe God loves me and is caring for me. I would want to protect and defend anyone being attacked or maligned by a judgmental person. When the voices in my head are lying to me about myself, I can see Jesus coming to my defense. Thank you Jesus for loving me.

3 Comments

Filed under 12 Steps, Recovery

3 responses to “A Recovery Post on Fear and the Truth

  1. Wow…. awesome reflections. Great to hear you turn the fears you feel into something useful to your life and recovery.

    I too believe deeply and have learned through experience that there is value in all things. Even in our fears and pain. Especially in our fears and pain.

    Ciao.

    Chaz

  2. Dana

    Hi Chris,

    I love your attitude about not wanting to judge others. I definitely think there is a place for discernment, but biting judgment only separates; it never binds. Mercy is truly at the heart of God, so I would rather err on the side of mercy than judgment any day.

    Also, those voices in your head ARE lying to you! I have spent 30 years walking backwards in the spiritual wilderness because I didn’t believe that God’s promises are for me. In effect, I was calling God a liar. I wasn’t honoring Him for who He is. Now, to honor Him by believing His word, I have decided to stand on His promises and “take the land”–all of it. Really. I have nothing to lose but everything to gain.

    I hope your mother is well. I lost mine to cancer in 2003. She’s with Jesus now,

    I’ll sincerely pray for you.

    God bless you,
    Dana

  3. Dana,
    Thanks for your comment. My mother went to be with Jesus because of cancer too in 2007. I’ll be praying for you also.
    Peace of Christ,
    Chris

Leave a Reply

