It hurts to see someone in emotional agony.

It hurts to see someone in emotional agony. I never see it the same way. It makes me think of Hannah in the Bible (1 Sam. 1:10). Lips quivering, eyes closed. Her body rocks back and forth and her hands are shaking. I walked into a large room today with people working busily about and there she sat. Others saw her and know her better than I but I just didn’t know what to do. What could I do? I sat on the steps nearby and prayed for her where she couldn’t see me. I didn’t know what else to do. I couldn’t rid her of her pain in that moment so prayer was the right recourse. Maybe she was praying, I don’t know. I ask God that I may always notice this. That I never become so accustomed to seeing pain that I just walk by it thinking there’s nothing I can do. There are so many obstacles to relief from pain: like communication, confusion, fear, isolation. But I know a loving God who offers peace. This is why I pray.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

