For the sake of our children

“For the sake of our children, please stop!” “Because the city is doing such a good job of providing homeless services, please stop!” I read these messages recently and something inside me just said, “Give up.” No one wants a tent city for the homeless anywhere. Aren’t you tired? No one is listening. But all this makes me think of the Kris Kristofferson song, “To Beat the Devil

“If you waste your time a-talkin’ to the people who don’t listen,
“To the things that you are sayin’, who do you think’s gonna hear.
“And if you should die explainin’ how the things that they complain about,
“Are things they could be changin’, who do you think’s gonna care?”

—-

You see, the devil haunts a hungry man,
If you don’t wanna join him, you got to beat him.
I ain’t sayin’ I beat the devil, but I drank his beer for nothing.
Then I stole his song.

And you still can hear me singin’ to the people who don’t listen,
To the things that I am sayin’, prayin’ someone’s gonna hear.
And I guess I’ll die explaining how the things that they complain about,
Are things they could be changin’, hopin’ someone’s gonna care.

I was born a lonely singer, and I’m bound to die the same,
But I’ve got to feed the hunger in my soul.
And if I never have a nickle, I won’t ever die ashamed.
‘Cos I don’t believe that no-one wants to know.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

