Death and new beginnings

Something is happening to me. My mind is being expanded. The horizon stretches yet further than I had imagined.

I’ve been very busy lately, finishing up a newspaper called “The Forgotten’s Call”. Preparing for Saturday’s event in Belleville, IL in Hough Park. We’ve been making friends in East St. Louis with the Lessie B. Davis Neighborhood House and the Continuum of Life Center.

I’m excited that Lewis Reed is running for Mayor in 2013.

In the last three weeks I’ve been affected by the death of three different friends. Slim Cox, David Douglas, Cindy Walburn. Life is so precious and so short. I’m learning to be gentle in these last days. The time is too short not to speak the truth to each other, but in ever new and careful ways. In a world of spin doctoring and new levels of conniving, I want to be the kind of person with patience for truth telling. Even where it really hurts. God help me.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

