Why I marched in the cold and freezing rain this morning for Fast Food Workers

040 031 036

This morning I joined Missouri Jobs with Justice in their march for a living wage St. Louisans. Together with other ministers like Rev. Bovo of Westside Missionary Baptist Church we chanted “Get Up, Get Down, Fast Food Workers Run this Town”, “We want change and we don’t mean pennies!”. You would think I’ve got enough on my plate right now. That as a pastor at an embattled emergency shelter in the loft district of Downtown West St. Louis that I should just be sitting and licking my wounds and worrying about what the neighbors think of me. “Oh poor Chris.”

But if you think that’s how I feel YOU WOULD BE SO WRONG! This morning I rose before light because I’m sick of how the poor are being criminalized in this state! As chair of the Metro St. Louis Coalition for the Homeless I know that homelessness, poverty, and decent wages are the same issue! I know that people are homeless because of lack of adequate income and because at minimum wage workers would need to work 74 hours a week to afford a two bed room apartment!

So I marched today with other ministers to represent MY people. Who are MY people? MY people are people of God who EXPECT JUSTICE for the poor and oppressed! Psalm 82:

2 “How long will you defend the unjust
and show partiality to the wicked?
3Defend the weak and the fatherless;
uphold the cause of the poor and the oppressed.
4Rescue the weak and the needy;
deliver them from the hand of the wicked.

We marched today because the powers that be in this city and this state need to hear it loud and proud, “We’re mad as hell about this system, and we’re calling the Almighty as our Witness that you’re day of judgment is here! You’re sick way of rewarding those who pay slave wages will not last! Neither will your criminalization of the homeless last! God sees! We see! End your wicked ways and learn justice!”

Leave a comment

December 5, 2013 · 10:41 am

Leave a Reply

